Mini Post – Help Others

“You must be the change you want to see in this world.”

I’ll be making a real blog post soon. But for now, more venting!

Idealism is a hard concept for some people to grasp. Most individuals expect others to follow a path that is widely accepted among society. Right now, that path is to graduate from a University, have a sustainable job, and settle down. This path is prominent in America because we are an individualistic nation set on striving for our own success. This causes us to become better people, but it lacks the inclusive element of those around us—our community.

The world is crumbling. For most, the world has already shattered. People all over the world have been displaced from their homes, have lost loved ones due to war or an unfortunate circumstance, and/or have never been provided with an opportunity to reach their full potential due to their circumstances. Media outlets continually cover stories around the world, specifically in the Middle East, that highlight innocent people being killed and families losing their homes. It is understandable to know that not everyone can have an impact on their lives, but it is sad to see that people don’t even try to help. We live in a hedonistic world where people will only react to a situation if it directly relates to them. They don’t consider their own ability to help others.

I know I mentioned it before, but I will do what I can to change the world. This is a statement many people will dismiss. That’s what drives me the most. I know I can’t change this world, but I will try—that’s what sets me apart. I have been honored to have met others with a similar resolve. We are all trying to do what we can to make a difference. We know we are not alone in our endeavors. There are so many people around this world who are sacrificing their time to inspire, motivate, and change others’ lives for the better. They are just not spoken of because we want them (those we inspire) to speak, not us. The world can be different, but we have to believe it can be different for it to change.

The expectations we have may be considered unattainable. The reality outweighs the expectations because of the hopelessness of what is happening. The movie, Tomorrowland, hits this point. If enough people believe the world can be a better place, then it can be just that. I was always told to ask myself what I want to achieve, what I want to be, and how I see myself in the future. The questions are never about how we can contribute to society, how we can help those in need, or how our decisions can affect others. Individualism has its benefits, but it isn’t always the right decision.

I, personally, haven’t met a strong resistance against my values or beliefs. Although, I have met some who oppose me or don’t believe my ideals. It is necessary for people like me to continually believe the world can be changed. We have the presence to change the lives of those around us and that is enough to cause a ripple effect. It may be small, but enough ripple effects have the potential to create a wave.

 

Leave a Reply

